Daley Byles of Barrie Captures Men’s Champion of Champions Title

Lakefield, ON – Barrie Country Club men’s club champion Daley Byles fired a three-under 69 on Wednesday to earn the Golf Association of Ontario’s Men’s Champion of Champions title at Wildfire Golf Club near Lakefield, Ontario.

The 22-year-old Barrie resident edged out the rest of the field of club champions from across Ontario by a single stroke to earn an exemption into the Ontario Men’s Amateur championship, which is taking place in July at Oslerbrook Golf and Country Club.

“I was scheduled to tee off tomorrow morning at 7:39 am (in the Amateur qualifier) so this definitely worked out well,” said Byles, who will be heading into his final year on the Gardner-Webb University men’s golf team this fall.

Runner-up honours went to Austin Kelly of Chatham, who carded a two under par 70 to pick up the silver medal.  Kelly is the club champion from Maple City Country Club and is coming off his junior year as a member of the Miami Redhawks men’s golf team.

The bronze medal went to Meadowbrook Golf and Country Club’s Raymond Oh of Richmond Hill, who carded a one under par 71 to close out the event in third place.

Coppinwood champion Jonathan Dunlap of Toronto finished in fourth place with an even-par 72, while three golfers tied for fifth; Newmarket resident Keegan Tyers from Beacon Hall Golf Club, Toronto’s Scott Sinclair from Islington Golf Club, and Boston Bruins center Marc Savard, the club champion from Kawartha Golf and Country Club. All three golfers posted identical one-over 73’s to finish four strokes back.

The Ontario Men’s Champion of Champions was first contested in 1946 and features men’s club champions from Golf Association of Ontario member clubs across the province. Past champions of the event include Ontario Golf Hall of Fame members Bill Morland, Gerry Kesselring, Warren Sye, and Stu Hamilton, as well as Big Break Indian Wells champion David Byrne. The Golf Association of Ontario would like to thank Wildfire Golf Club for hosting the event and for their continued support of amateur golf in Ontario.